Actuarial Students’ Society of Kenya (ASSK)


About us

The Actuarial Students’ Society of Kenya is an umbrella body for student actuaries and BSc Actuarial Science students in Kenya. Founded in 2013, it has 22 member universities.

The main objectives of the society include:

  • co-ordinating member activities
  • creating awareness of the actuarial profession amongst both students and the public
  • upholding professionalism amongst actuarial students
  • bridging the gap between students and the industry through social and professional events
  • creating a link between industry and student actuaries

Who’s who in the society

  • Cynthia Walumbe, President
  • Paul Victor Ndegwa, Vice President
  • Lucy Murimi, Secretary General
  • Odhiambo Chrispine Asiyo, Deputy Secretary General
  • Martin Kiarie, Finance Secretary
  • Mary Itwika, Deputy Finance Secretary
  • Lilly Aengwo, Organising Secretary
  • Roselyne Cherotich, Deputy Organising Secretary
  • Joy Kendi, Corporate Affairs Secretary
  • Melvin Mwani, Deputy Corporate Affairs Secretary
  • Vanessa Paula, Student Liaison Officer
  • Alphax Macharia, Editor-in-chief

Meetings and events

The society hosts various events which help it to achieve its objectives.

These events are both social and professional and include:

  • the annual Product Design and Modelling Competition. Usually held in June, this competition requires students to develop and model actuarial products around a specific theme. Submissions are judged by a panel of Fellows, who then award prizes.
  • the annual ASSK cocktail evening, usually held in late October. This is a social event whereby student actuaries network with Fellows.
  • professional forums whereby specialists in a given area give a talk on a topic.
  • leadership training for our officials and campus representatives to guide them on how to lead their campus associations.

Join us

If you want to join ASSK or find out more you can contact us at