Bristol Actuarial Society


About us

Founded in May 1974, the Bristol Actuarial Society aims to provide local opportunities for all members of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries (IFoA) to meet, discuss and debate matters of professional interest

The society has approximately 700 members stretching out from Bristol to Exeter, Cardiff, Cheltenham, Gloucester, and Swindon.

Who's who in the society

  • James Fisher, Willis Towers Watson - President

  • Puranjay Parchure, NHBC - Honorary Secretary

  • Ben Thompson, PwC - Honorary Treasurer

  • Alice Dymond, Broadstone - Honorary Membership Secretary

  • Committee members

    • Declan Carroll, Barnett Waddingham

    • Kris Hristakev, LBG

    • Sean Jones, LBG
    • Oscar Lomas, Ernst & Young 

    • Dorota Szczepaniak, Aviva

    • Guy Taylor

    • Jo Thorpe, KPMG

Meetings and events

Typically, the programme of events for the year includes approximately six talks and six social events. Meetings are generally held in Bristol but there have been meetings in other locations.

The society is open to joint meetings with other regional actuarial societies and with other organisations such as:

  • National Association of Pensions Funds(NAPF)
  • Association of Professional Futurists (APF)
  • Association of Pension Lawyers (APL)
  • Pensions Management Institute (PMI)
  • Association of British Insurers (AB)I
  • Chartered Insurance Institute (CII), SWAPP.

Visit the Bristol Actuarial Society’s website to find out more about what's going on.

Join us

Membership of the society is free upon provision of an e-mail address. To join, please visit the Bristol Actuarial Society website. You can also email us at