Geoffrey Heywood Prize

The Geoffrey Heywood Prize was established in 2015 from a bequest left in Geoffrey Heywood’s will.

Geoffrey Heywood was President of the Institute from 1972 to 1974 and was the first consulting actuary to hold this post.

This is an occasional prize for a paper or journal article that demonstrates excellent levels of communication and engagement with a general actuarial audience. Nominations are run in parallel with the Peter Clark Prize for Best Paper.


Past Geoffrey Heywood Prize winners


2022 Peer-to-peer multi-risk insurance and mutual aid Samal Abdikerimova and Runhuan Feng
2021 Climate scenario analysis: An illustration of potential long-term economic & financial market impacts Luca Bongiorno, Andrew Claringbold, Lisa Eichler Claire Jones, Bert Kramer, Louise Pryor and Nick Spencer
2020 A neural network extension of the Lee-Carter model to multiple populations Ronald Richman and Mario V. Wüthrich
2019 A conceptual model for pricing health and life insurance using wearable technology Michael McCrea and Mark Farrell
2018 How can we improve the customers’ experience of our life products? Risk and Customer Outcomes Working Party
2017 No winner No winner
2016 Bias guess and expert judgement in actuarial work The Getting Better Judgement Working Party
2015 Non-traditional investments – key considerations for insurers The Non-Traditional Investments Working Party